Skip to content



Congratulations to alumnus August Askins and to one of TPTE’s mentoring teachers (Shannon Tufts) from Lenoir City on being recognized as 2016–17 SCORE fellows! SCORE Selects 49 Teachers for the 2016–17 Tennessee Educator Fellowship.

Jessica Stewart, art education alumna has been named one of the 2016 Knox County Schools Teachers of the Year! Jessica is a fourth-year art teacher at Christenberry Elementary School. We hope you enjoy this article and video from the Knoxville News Sentinal about how Jessica encourages her students to explore and create art that is personal. Christenberry Principal Melissa Johnson calls her an exceptional educator.

The American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (AACTE) honored PhD graduate Monica T. Billen, assistant professor in the Kremen School of Education at California State University, Fresno, with the 2016 AACTE Outstanding Dissertation Award for her study #Learningtoteach: Using Instagram to Elicit Pre-service Teacher Reflection. Billen’s study investigated how using participant-driven images on Instagram influenced reflective expression among preservice teachers during a yearlong internship. Read more about her study in this EdPrepMatters blog.

Alumnus and Western Carolina University faculty member Patricia Bricker was honored for her contributions to the practice of service-learning by North Carolina Campus Compact, a coalition of 35 public and private colleges and universities in the state. Bricker, an associate professor of science education and associate director of WCU’s School of Teaching and Learning, was presented the Robert L. Sigmon Service-Learning Award for 2016 during a ceremony at High Point University. The presentation was part of activities at Campus Compact’s annual Pathways to Achieving Civic Engagement Conference. Read more about Bricker’s contributions to community engaged teaching.

Rachael Gabriel, literacy studies PhD graduate, was named an Early Career Scholar at the University of Connecticut. This award is given to a faculty member(s) in the Neag School of Education within the first eight years (at least two years at UConn) of his or her academic career following the completion of the doctoral degree and recognizes outstanding early-career contributions to his or her field of study, along with a demonstrated potential for continued research success and achievements.


The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.

Report an accessibility barrier.Privacy.