Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Fourth Annual TPTE Recognition Ceremony

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On October 10, 2017, the Department of Theory and Practice in Teacher Education (TPTE) at the University of Tennessee held its fourth annual Recognition Ceremony in downtown Knoxville. The Recognition Ceremony was held in conjunction with the David T. Bailey Graduate School of Education’s Billie Grace Goodrich Lecture by Marian Wright Edelman, founder of the Children’s Defense Fund. We honored two outstanding alumni, Ellen Watson James (year of graduation) and Melissa McKown (year of graduation); three outstanding collaborators, Shannon Jackson (Knox County Schools) and Melissa Massie (Knox County Schools); and three outstanding community advocates for education, Katie Cyphers, Dr. Gene Overholt and Mrs. Lyn Overholt. TPTE recognized two outstanding faculty: Dr. Lynn Hodge (Collaboration with the Field Award) and Dr. Stewart Waters (Scholarship Award) and one outstanding doctoral student, Robin Schell (Literacy Studies/English as a Second Language).