Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue
Frank W Harvey Award graphic

TPTE Frank W. Harvey Professorship Award Recipients

Written by Kristin Rearden, clinical professor of science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) / science education

Every year a faculty member is honored with the Frank W. Harvey Professorship.  In 1998, the Frank W. Harvey Professorship Endowment was established in what was then the College of Education by the Harvey family. Mr. Harvey was a long-time supporter of the University of Tennessee, Knoxville (UTK), and served on the UTK development council under presidents Ed Boling and Joe Johnson.

The department is grateful to the Harvey family for their continued support of teacher education.

2019 – 2020

Judson LaughterJudson Laughter, associate professor of English education, was the recipient of the 2019-2020 Harvey Professorship.




2018 – 2019

Lynn Hodge headshotLynn Hodge, professor of STEM/Math education, was the recipient of the Harvey Professorship in 2018-19. In describing the impact of this award on her work in teacher education, she noted that the funding provided unique opportunities to enhance her scholarship and teaching. “I was able to attend two of the preeminent educational research conferences in my field,” stated Hodge. These international conferences were the meetings of the International Group for the Psychology of Mathematics Education at University of Umea in Sweden and the University of Pretoria in South Africa.

While at the conferences, Hodge received valuable feedback from participants on her data visualization research. She also learned more about ways to support secondary math and science teacher candidates in their professional development. “I attended sessions that offered ways to make math and science more meaningful for students, and also met with other educators about effective ways to teach mathematics,” stated Hodge.

These transformative experiences have impacted Hodge’s work with her current National Science Foundation project, which is designed to increase the number of exceptional math and science teachers in East Tennessee. “My learning through the conferences has brought new knowledge to this project and addressing the teacher shortages in Tennessee,” reflected Hodge. With the support of the Harvey Award funds for her international conference participation, Hodge will make a positive impact on the caliber of newly certified secondary math and science teachers right here in East Tennessee.


Susan Groenke headshotSusan Groenke, assistant department head and assistant professor of English education, was the recipient of the 2017-2018 Harvey Professorship. The Harvey funds were used to support conference travel.