TPTE 2016 Recognition Ceremony

The Department of Theory and Practice in Teacher Education held its third annual Recognition Ceremony on October 4, 2016, at the Holiday Inn, World’s Fair Park in Knoxville. This event recognizes individuals making a difference in the field of education and interpreting. The ceremony preceded the annual Billie Grace Goodrich Lecture with keynote speaker Johnnetta Cole. TPTE faculty, staff, and doctoral students were recognized for their accomplishments, including promotions and external awards. Faculty and student awards as well as awards to selected members of the educational community were presented.

Awards were presented to the following:

Teaching Award:
Yujeong Park
Service Award:
Chonika Coleman-King & Kristin Rearden

Graduate Student Research Award:

Sara Demoiny (teacher education/social science—major advisor: Stewart Waters)
Byungkeon Kim (special education/deaf education/ interpreter education—major advisor: David Cihak)
Kelly Kraiss (special education/deaf education/interpreter education—major advisor: David Cihak)

Outstanding Alumnus:
(The award is given to alumni who have made outstanding contributions to the fields of education and/ or interpreting.)

Tammy Bowlin (Jefferson County Schools)
Michel Swafford (Tennessee School for the Deaf)
Elaine Vaughan (Oak Ridge Schools)

TPTE Outstanding Collaborator:
(The award is given to a professional educator or interpreter with a distinguished history of collaboration with faculty, students, and staff within TPTE.)

Tracy McAbee (principal, Benton Elementary School)
Sallee Reynolds (principal, Hardin Valley Academy)
Gale Stanley (Campbell County Schools)

TPTE Outstanding Community Advocate:
(The award is given to an individual with a distinguished history of advocacy for PreK–12 teachers and students and/or interpreters.)

Senator Lamar Alexander
Bobbie Beckman (Speech Pathology Services of East TN)
Patti Bounds (Knox County School Board, teacher)


Comments are closed.